Nadia’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Writing…in music March 27, 2009

Filed under: languages,music,thoughts,writing — nadia888 @ 2:18 pm
Tags: , , ,

First of all: thank you very much for your comments and advice, I really appreciated them and I’ll keep them in mind while writing! And I’m glad my english is understandable!

Tonight I was thinking -instead of sleeping like a normal person (which explains why this morning I didn’t wake up and miss my early lesson at university) – about writing and languages, and languages and music. I know it seems to someone that they’re distant but they really aren’t. I usually read in the original language of the book, it’s some kind of rule because I just can’t stand translations, they change the primary rhythm and refinement so the story loses part of its magic. I even found myself reading books in languages I don’t know, I remember with great affection when I tried to read Dostoevskij in russian, it was hilarious, of course I give up after a few pages because it was pointless. Note to self: learn russian.

Anyway I think that writing in a particular language make the story flow like a melody, so tonight I found myself wondering about which music could represent best writings in different languages, and I end up with this: I think that english is  very direct and simple, but in the meantime it is rich of details that thanks to its nature aren’t heavy, and flows like a river in a linear simphony with light flourishing notes. French is very dulcet and soothing, it reminds me of a sweet melody, a lullaby. Italian writing is forcibly formal and complicated, it could be compared to lyrical music with its flaunting voice and elaborated notes. German is strong and solid, it reminds me of an angular music composition with zig zag notes and points. Latin is solemn and ancient, nothing can express it better than carmina burana, with its grave voice and sober notes. Spanish is cheerful and playful, it could be compared to a colourful song with great rhythm and passionate notes.

Then I finally fell asleep and my list stopped there. Does it make any sense or I just wasted a good part of my sleep?

 

2 Responses to “Writing…in music”

  1. Teresa Says:

    You wasted no part of your sleep. I know Spanish, and your description is right on, but I’ve read novels in English from these other countries.

    I love your descriptions, they are very accurate and very beautiful. I will try one: Russian is deep and sonorous, serious and sad like a dirge; I think of Orthodox services and a chorus of male voices cresting like the sea. Not as good as yours, but it was fun.

    I love reading novels from other countries. If I get a good English translation, I feel like I’m reading in that country’s language – if that makes any sense. My favorite translation is from your country, The Name of the Rose by Eco Umberto. What a beautiful, lyrical novel that chants with the intensity of a monk.

    Bravo, and what a delightful exercise.


Leave a Reply

